This position is open Nov. 2021

The laboratories of Drs. Kenneth Shain, Mehdi Damaghi and Ariosto Silva, at Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute (MCC), are seeking highly motivated candidates for postdoctoral training in the field of bioinformatics, computational biology, cancer genomics and evolutionary theory of cancer, to work on a cutting-edge, interdisciplinary, and cross-institutional research, focused on the co-evolution of cancer epi-genomes throughout tumor progression, with a particular emphasize on Multiple Myeloma (led by Dr. Shain) and Breast Cancer (led by Dr. Damaghi). The research involves a tight collaboration with the laboratory of Dr. Eugene Koonin at the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), such that the successful candidate will work with basic, translational and clinical scientists at Moffitt and NCBI, in a synergistic collaboration, and will hold a fellowship at the NIH/NLM/NCBI.

We are particularly interested in candidates with strong computational skills and background in bioinformatics (e.g., RNA-seq, WES, ATAC-seq, single cell -omics, cytogenetics), who are passionate about understanding biological systems in the light of evolution. The ideal candidate should be fluent in programming languages/bioinformatics platforms (e.g., R, Python), working with public databases and tools (e.g., TCGA, NCBI tools), and be familiar with analytical, numerical, and statistical analysis techniques.

MCC is the only NCI comprehensive cancer center in the state of Florida and a leader in translational research, with special emphasis on integration of clinical, molecular and wet lab data, through Total Cancer Care initiative and the ORIEN consortium. Drs. Shain, Damaghi and Silva research focuses on development of multi-omics model of carcinogenesis and evolution of drug resistance in cancer, as well as innovative approaches to delay and/or reverse these dynamics, with the goal of improving patient’s quality of life and survival. Interested candidates should contact Drs. Kenneth Shain ([email protected]), Mehdi Damaghi ([email protected]), Erez Persi ([email protected]) and/or Ariosto Silva ([email protected]).